Kelly Osbourne’s Struggle

March 20, 2009

kelly_osbourne240

Three weeks ago Kelly Osbourne left rehab and now she tells PEOPLE that she’s been addicted to painkillers since she was a teen.

“I had my tonsils taken out [at age 13], and they gave me liquid Vicodin,” the TV personality recalls of her first use of painkillers. “I found, when I take this, people like me. I’m having fun, I’m not getting picked on. It became a confidence thing.”

Osbourne says now, after her thrid trip to rehab, she is finally clean.

The star, who reunites with her family for a March 31 FOX special called Osbournes Reloaded (their first collaboration since MTV’s The Osbournes), decided to seek help after suffering an intense relapse this year. Using downers to sleep through the days, she says, “I knew if I didn’t get help, I would die.”

“I’m getting a second chance [at my career],” she says, “and I want to be present for it.”

We hope you are doing a lot better.

Leave a Reply

